Join us on Saturday, April 12th at 1:30 pm in the Community Room for a discussion of The Twelve Tribes of Hattie by Ayana Mathis.  New members welcome!

Hattie

 In 1923, fifteen-year-old Hattie Shepherd, swept up by the tides of the Great Migration, flees Georgia and heads north.  Full of hope, she settles in Philadelphia to build a better life.  Instead she marries a man who will bring her nothing but disappointment.  Hattie gives birth to nine children and vows to prepare them for an unkind world.  Their lives, captured in twelve luminous threads, tell the story of a mother’s monumental courage– and a nation’s tumultuous journey. (Publisher’s Description)

Limited copies available at the reference desk.  For more information about bookclubs at FTPL please visit: bookclubs

Get in the mood for St. Paddy’s Day with all things Irish!  Check out the library’s gallery display featuring books, dvds and cds celebrating Ireland’s people and culture.  Cooking, step dancing, Irish language instruction and more!

photo1 (2)

Winter is almost over and cabin fever is at it’s peak.  The weather can’t decide what it’s doing, so while you’re stuck inside for the umpteenth day in a row, why wouldn’t you escape through a book?  Join National Reading Month and read an old favorite or try something new.

Don’t forget to log your Winter Reading Program which ends March 20.  You win a prize every 5 books (up to 15) and get entered into a drawing for a Barnes and Noble gift card.  You’re already reading, so take advantage! You can sign up through our homepage: http://franklintwp.org/

What will YOU read next?
What will YOU read next?

Don’t forget to find us on Facebook to get our Blog updates and reading suggestions!

The Weight of Blood: A Novel by Laura McHugh

Published: Mar 11, 2014 by Spiegel & Grau

Find in the Library

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Scott Smith, and Daniel Woodrell comes a gripping, suspenseful novel about two mysterious disappearances a generation apart.

The town of Henbane sits deep in the Ozark Mountains. Folks there still whisper about Lucy Dane’s mother, a bewitching stranger who appeared long enough to marry Carl Dane and then vanished when Lucy was just a child. Now on the brink of adulthood, Lucy experiences another loss when her friend Cheri disappears and is then found murdered, her body placed on display for all to see. Lucy’s family has deep roots in the Ozarks, part of a community that is fiercely protective of its own. Yet despite her close ties to the land, and despite her family’s influence, Lucy—darkly beautiful as her mother was—is always thought of by those around her as her mother’s daughter. When Cheri disappears, Lucy is haunted by the two lost girls—the mother she never knew and the friend she couldn’t save—and sets out with the help of a local boy, Daniel, to uncover the mystery behind Cheri’s death.

What Lucy discovers is a secret that pervades the secluded Missouri hills, and beyond that horrific revelation is a more personal one concerning what happened to her mother more than a decade earlier.

The Weight of Blood is an urgent look at the dark side of a bucolic landscape beyond the arm of the law, where a person can easily disappear without a trace. Laura McHugh proves herself a masterly storyteller who has created a harsh and tangled terrain as alive and unforgettable as the characters who inhabit it. Her mesmerizing debut is a compelling exploration of the meaning of family: the sacrifices we make, the secrets we keep, and the lengths to which we will go to protect the ones we love.

Members of the Senior Artists and Crafters share their work in the Library’s lobby display cases through the end of March. The display contains a variety of pieces; including crocheted and knitted works, fishing lures, jewelry, woodwork, photography, painting, and more. Senior Artists and Crafters is a non-profit organization whose purpose is to promote the art of handcrafting and to provide a community service.

Senior Artists and Crafters meets at St. John’s Church, 158 West High Street, in Somerville. The non-profit group is comprised of area artists and crafters of all ages. The organization is community-minded and participates in Somerville’s Santa Land and Street Fairs, as well as holding a spring and fall show of its own, usually on the lawn of the historic Somerset County Courthouse.

The club donates monies realized from its spring and fall shows to various area charities and other non-profits. Among charities receiving donations in the past are S.H.I.P, YMCA, Middle Earth, Somerset County Office on Aging, Handyman Project, St. Hubert’s Animal Shelter, Life Skills, Wallace House, and Habitat for Humanity.

New members and visitors are always welcome at all monthly meetings. Visit their website: http://www.somervillecrafts.com/ for more information.