By now you’ve probably heard about the Heartbleed Bug that has caused an uproar over the last few days.  Apparently over the last two years, this bug has affected an unknown number of websites.  The good news is that many major websites like Google, Facebook, Yahoo and Tumblr are patched at this point.   But the professionals recommended you change your passwords for banking, finance, email and social media sites.

Avoid using the same password for multiple sites; that is the main way to limit the damage these kinds of hacks will cause.

To test a website to see if it has been patched, please go here.

Information on the bug itself can be found in several places, but these are some useful sites:  BBC, TechCrunch,  Heartbleed.

Some articles with advice on what to do can be found here and here.

Don’t forget to follow us on social media, and change your passwords.

heartbleed-bug

20140319190747!Logo_of_The_Andrew_Carnegie_Medals_for_Excellence_in_Fiction_&_Nonfiction

The shortlist for the 2014 Andrew Carnegie Medals has been announced!  Have you read the books?  Let us know what you think!  The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt, one of the fiction shortlist selections, is one of our staff picks.  Also on the fiction shortlist are:

Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Claire of the Sea Light by Edwidge Danticat

The nonfiction shortlist is:

On Paper: The Everything of its Two-Thousand Year History by Nicholas A. Basbanes

Five Days at Memorial: Life and Death in a Storm-Ravaged Hospital by Sheri Fink

The Bully Pulpit: Theodore Roosevelt, William Howard Taft and the Golden Age of Journalism by Doris Kearns Goodwin

 

If you’ve read one of these six books and want more, check out these similar nonfiction and fiction titles. 

 

This is your last change to register for the free SAT review class Saturday, April 5.  You MUST register to attend and the class is almost full.

We are happy to welcome back Ameer Sohrawardy, an assistant professor of English Literature at Rutgers University – Newark, with over 10 years of experience as an SAT instructor.  Professor Sohrawardy will be presenting successful strategies that students can use to confidently handle both the written and essay portions of the SAT exam.  There will also be time for Q & A about the entire SAT examination process.   Those working to improve their prose writing skills are encouraged to attend as well.

Click on the program title below for more information and to register.

 SAT Review Part II: “How to Earn a Perfect Score on the SAT Writing Section (Exclusive of the Essay)”
Saturday, April 5, 2014 @ 11 – 12 pm (Main Library – Community Room)
 
 Don’t forget to follow us on Facebook so you don’t miss what’s going on at the Library!

Writing3

The Weight of Blood: A Novel by Laura McHugh

Published: Mar 11, 2014 by Spiegel & Grau

Find in the Library

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Scott Smith, and Daniel Woodrell comes a gripping, suspenseful novel about two mysterious disappearances a generation apart.

The town of Henbane sits deep in the Ozark Mountains. Folks there still whisper about Lucy Dane’s mother, a bewitching stranger who appeared long enough to marry Carl Dane and then vanished when Lucy was just a child. Now on the brink of adulthood, Lucy experiences another loss when her friend Cheri disappears and is then found murdered, her body placed on display for all to see. Lucy’s family has deep roots in the Ozarks, part of a community that is fiercely protective of its own. Yet despite her close ties to the land, and despite her family’s influence, Lucy—darkly beautiful as her mother was—is always thought of by those around her as her mother’s daughter. When Cheri disappears, Lucy is haunted by the two lost girls—the mother she never knew and the friend she couldn’t save—and sets out with the help of a local boy, Daniel, to uncover the mystery behind Cheri’s death.

What Lucy discovers is a secret that pervades the secluded Missouri hills, and beyond that horrific revelation is a more personal one concerning what happened to her mother more than a decade earlier.

The Weight of Blood is an urgent look at the dark side of a bucolic landscape beyond the arm of the law, where a person can easily disappear without a trace. Laura McHugh proves herself a masterly storyteller who has created a harsh and tangled terrain as alive and unforgettable as the characters who inhabit it. Her mesmerizing debut is a compelling exploration of the meaning of family: the sacrifices we make, the secrets we keep, and the lengths to which we will go to protect the ones we love.

It might be a bit strange to write a book focusing on a question without an answer but that is precisely what author Lee Billings has done with his new book Five Billion Years of Solitude: The Search for Life Among the Stars. Billings, who spent several years researching the topic and interviewing leading experts in the search for extraterrestrial life profiles several personalities whose contributions have played key rolls in the ongoing search.

Tantor Audio have a sample MP3 available here.

PloS’s NeuroTribe blog has an interview with the author here.

Science and technology website Ars Technica has a detailed review.

The audiobook of this title can be placed on hold here.