Winter is almost over and cabin fever is at it’s peak.  The weather can’t decide what it’s doing, so while you’re stuck inside for the umpteenth day in a row, why wouldn’t you escape through a book?  Join National Reading Month and read an old favorite or try something new.

Don’t forget to log your Winter Reading Program which ends March 20.  You win a prize every 5 books (up to 15) and get entered into a drawing for a Barnes and Noble gift card.  You’re already reading, so take advantage! You can sign up through our homepage: http://franklintwp.org/

What will YOU read next?
What will YOU read next?

Don’t forget to find us on Facebook to get our Blog updates and reading suggestions!

The Weight of Blood: A Novel by Laura McHugh

Published: Mar 11, 2014 by Spiegel & Grau

Find in the Library

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Scott Smith, and Daniel Woodrell comes a gripping, suspenseful novel about two mysterious disappearances a generation apart.

The town of Henbane sits deep in the Ozark Mountains. Folks there still whisper about Lucy Dane’s mother, a bewitching stranger who appeared long enough to marry Carl Dane and then vanished when Lucy was just a child. Now on the brink of adulthood, Lucy experiences another loss when her friend Cheri disappears and is then found murdered, her body placed on display for all to see. Lucy’s family has deep roots in the Ozarks, part of a community that is fiercely protective of its own. Yet despite her close ties to the land, and despite her family’s influence, Lucy—darkly beautiful as her mother was—is always thought of by those around her as her mother’s daughter. When Cheri disappears, Lucy is haunted by the two lost girls—the mother she never knew and the friend she couldn’t save—and sets out with the help of a local boy, Daniel, to uncover the mystery behind Cheri’s death.

What Lucy discovers is a secret that pervades the secluded Missouri hills, and beyond that horrific revelation is a more personal one concerning what happened to her mother more than a decade earlier.

The Weight of Blood is an urgent look at the dark side of a bucolic landscape beyond the arm of the law, where a person can easily disappear without a trace. Laura McHugh proves herself a masterly storyteller who has created a harsh and tangled terrain as alive and unforgettable as the characters who inhabit it. Her mesmerizing debut is a compelling exploration of the meaning of family: the sacrifices we make, the secrets we keep, and the lengths to which we will go to protect the ones we love.

Members of the Senior Artists and Crafters share their work in the Library’s lobby display cases through the end of March. The display contains a variety of pieces; including crocheted and knitted works, fishing lures, jewelry, woodwork, photography, painting, and more. Senior Artists and Crafters is a non-profit organization whose purpose is to promote the art of handcrafting and to provide a community service.

Senior Artists and Crafters meets at St. John’s Church, 158 West High Street, in Somerville. The non-profit group is comprised of area artists and crafters of all ages. The organization is community-minded and participates in Somerville’s Santa Land and Street Fairs, as well as holding a spring and fall show of its own, usually on the lawn of the historic Somerset County Courthouse.

The club donates monies realized from its spring and fall shows to various area charities and other non-profits. Among charities receiving donations in the past are S.H.I.P, YMCA, Middle Earth, Somerset County Office on Aging, Handyman Project, St. Hubert’s Animal Shelter, Life Skills, Wallace House, and Habitat for Humanity.

New members and visitors are always welcome at all monthly meetings. Visit their website: http://www.somervillecrafts.com/ for more information.

OK, I’m recommending a Star Wars book. But, it is a Star Wars book by James S. A. Corey an author whose Expanse series (Leviathan WakesCaliban’s War, Abaddon’s Gate, and the forthcoming Cibola Burn) is one of the best things to happen to the space opera genre in years. Not only that but, as of right now, this is last Star Wars novel listed for publication until Disney gets things rolling again.

Honor Among Thieves | James S. A. Corey

From the publisher:

When the Empire threatens the galaxy’s new hope, will Han, Luke, and Leia become its last chance?

When the mission is to extract a high-level rebel spy from the very heart of the Empire, Leia Organa knows the best man for the job is Han Solo—something the princess and the smuggler can finally agree on. After all, for a guy who broke into an Imperial cell block and helped destroy the Death Star, the assignment sounds simple enough.

But when Han locates the brash rebel agent, Scarlet Hark, she’s determined to stay behind enemy lines. A pirate plans to sell a cache of stolen secrets that the Empire would destroy entire worlds to protect—including the planet where Leia is currently meeting with rebel sympathizers. Scarlet wants to track down the thief and steal the bounty herself, and Han has no choice but to go along if he’s to keep everyone involved from getting themselves killed. From teeming city streets to a lethal jungle to a trap-filled alien temple, Han, Chewbacca, Leia, and their daring new comrade confront one ambush, double cross, and firestorm after another as they try to keep crucial intel out of Imperial hands.

But even with the crack support of Luke Skywalker’s x-wing squadron, the Alliance heroes may be hopelessly outgunned in their final battle for the highest of stakes: the power to liberate the galaxy from tyranny or ensure the Empire’s reign of darkness forever.

The debut novel of freelance writer Elizabeth Blackwell is a  remaining of the classic fairy tale Sleeping Beauty, While Beauty Slept is a stellar debut sure to please both fans of fairy tales and historical fiction.

While Beauty Slept by Elizabeth Blackwell

From the publisher:

I am not the sort of person about whom stories are told.
And so begins Elise Dalriss’s story. When she hears her great-granddaughter recount a minstrel’s tale about a beautiful princess asleep in a tower, it pushes open a door to the past, a door Elise has long kept locked. For Elise was the companion to the real princess who slumbered—and she is the only one left who knows what actually happened so many years ago. Her story unveils a labyrinth where secrets connect to an inconceivable evil. As only Elise understands all too well, the truth is no fairy tale.
There is an excerpt available from Penguin Books.