Arthur Machen’s 1890 novella The Great God Pan was panned by critics upon its initial release but as the twentieth century rolled in has been praised by horror writers in including H. P. Lovecraft and Stephen King who went so far as referring to the novel as “one of the best horror stories ever written” and the primary influence for his own story N.
Continue reading

The Demonologist by Andrew Pyper
The Demonologist by Andrew Pyper

Andrew Pyper’s latest novel will appeal to fans of The Historian, The Da Vinci Code, and the Exorcist . In the supernatural literary thriller Milton expert Professor David Ullman’s knowledge of hell is put to the test as he races to find his daughter lost in the underworld. An unsettling work examining demons both real and supernatural The Demonologist remains a thrilling read that will engage readers looking for both a literary excursion and shiver of fear.

An excerpt is available via Simon and Schuster at http://www.simonpop.com/authors/andrew-pyper#book_excerpt

Check out the book trailer after the break!
Continue reading

Get a glimpse of history! Check out this collection of photographs taken by local photographer Elton H. L. Wade during the early part of the 20th century. The collection includes photographs of everyday life in the Middlebush area of Franklin Township, as well as many historically significant photos, such as photos of the Hindenburg zeppelin flying over New Brunswick and exhibits at the New York World’s Fair of 1939-1940. The initial online collection features 29 images, and will grow each month to feature the over 2,000 photographs taken by Wade in his lifetime. Click here to see the photos.

The Ordinary Acrobat
The Ordinary Acrobat
This week’s spotlight new release is a new non-fiction title The Ordinary Acrobat: A Journey into the Wondrous World of the Circus, Past and Present. Part circus history, part travelogue, and part memoir The Ordinary Acrobat chronicles author Duncan Wall’s beginnings as a fan of the circus and his training at the French École Nationale des Arts du Cirque de Rosny-sous-Bois.