Skip to content

Staff Pick of the Week: “This Tender Land” by William Kent Krueger

Genre: Historical Fiction, Coming-of-Age, Adventure

Read-Alikes:
99 Lights in Logar by Jamil Jan Kochar
The Round House by Louise Erdrich
The Nickel Boys by Colson Whitehead



1932, Minnesota–the Lincoln School is a pitiless place where hundreds of Native American children, forcibly separated from their parents, are sent to be educated. It is also home to an orphan named Odie O’Banion, a lively boy whose exploits earn him the superintendent’s wrath. Forced to flee, he and his brother Albert, their best friend Mose, and a brokenhearted little girl named Emmy steal away in a canoe, heading for the mighty Mississippi and a place to call their own.

Over the course of one unforgettable summer, these four orphans will journey into the unknown and cross paths with others who are adrift, from struggling farmers and traveling faith healers to displaced families and lost souls of all kinds. With the feel of a modern classic, This Tender Land is an en­thralling, big-hearted epic that shows how the magnificent American landscape connects us all, haunts our dreams, and makes us whole.



If you have any questions about putting this or any other book on hold, please call the reference desk at 732-873-8700 opt. 3 or leave a comment below.

Thanks for reading,
George, FTPL


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.