Skip to content

Staff Pick of the Week: “The Keeper of Lost Things” by Ruth Hogan

Genre: General Fiction
Read-Alikes:
Be Frank With Me by Julia Claiborne Johnson
A Spool of Blue Thread by Anne Tyler
The Authenticity Project by Clare Pooley

Oh my — I love this book. When I was 25, I lost my grandmother’s engagement ring which was gifted to me as a teenager. My grandparents were hard-working Ukrainian immigrants who had enormous valuable love but owned very little of monetary value except this ring. This book is for anyone who ever lost anything they cherished.

Lana, Youth Services

Anthony Peardew is the keeper of lost things. Forty years ago, he carelessly lost a keepsake from his beloved fiancée, Therese. That very same day, she died unexpectedly. Brokenhearted, Anthony sought consolation in rescuing lost objects–the things others have dropped, misplaced, or accidently left behind–and writing stories about them. Now, in the twilight of his life, Anthony worries that he has not fully discharged his duty to reconcile all the lost things with their owners. As the end nears, he bequeaths his secret life’s mission to his unsuspecting assistant, Laura, leaving her his house and and all its lost treasures, including an irritable ghost.



For questions about putting this or any other book on hold, please call the reference desk at 732-873-8700 opt. 3.

Thanks for reading,
George, FTPL

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.