Staff Pick of the Week: Dune by Frank Herbert


Dune: Deluxe Edition: Herbert, Frank: 9780593099322: Amazon.com: Books

Genre:
Science Fiction, Science Fiction Classics, Space Opera
Read-Alikes:
The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien
The Abyss Beyond Dreams by Peter F. Hamilton
Words of Radiance by Brandon Sanderson



This week’s staff pick is a SciFi classic: Frank Herbert’s Dune. One of the many reasons this books is so often cited as essential to the genre is the world building employed by the author, which is considered to be some of the best ever penned. To illustrate this, most editions include maps, a glossary, appendices, and more, all describing the complex internal universe of Dune. (If you’ve read any recently published SciFi or fantasy novels, you’ve probably noticed this is a key feature in these genres.) If you are a fan of SciFi and fantasy and haven’t read it already, Dune is highly recommended.



“Set on the desert planet Arrakis, Dune is the story of the boy Paul Atreides, heir to a noble family tasked with ruling an inhospitable world where the only thing of value is the “spice” melange, a drug capable of extending life and enhancing consciousness. Coveted across the known universe, melange is a prize worth killing for…

When House Atreides is betrayed, the destruction of Paul’s family will set the boy on a journey toward a destiny greater than he could ever have imagined. And as he evolves into the mysterious man known as Muad’Dib, he will bring to fruition humankind’s most ancient and unattainable dream.” -Goodreads.com



With the upcoming Netflix adaptation recently pushed back to a 2021 release, now is the time to become acquainted with the timeless source material.



Thanks for reading,
-George, FTPL

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *