Staff Pick of the Week: “Network Effect” by Martha Wells


Network Effect (The Murderbot Diaries, #5) by Martha Wells

Genre:
Science Fiction
Read-Alikes:
The Long Earth by Terry Pratchett
Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie
Velocity Weapon by Megan E. O’Keefe

This week’s staff pick is the action-packed and character-driven Network Effect, the first full-length novel written by science fiction author Martha Wells. As a standalone installment of the beloved Murderbot Diaries series, Network Effect continues the story of a fully sentient assassin droid who longs for nothing more than to binge watch TV. With an unforgettable protagonist and brisk plot, this book is highly recommended for all science fiction fans or any reader looking to dive in to the genre for the first time.

“You know that feeling when you’re at work, and you’ve had enough of people, and then the boss walks in with yet another job that needs to be done right this second or the world will end, but all you want to do is go home and binge your favorite shows? And you’re a sentient murder machine programmed for destruction? Congratulations, you’re Murderbot.

Come for the pew-pew space battles, stay for the most relatable A.I. you’ll read this century.” -Goodreads.com



Thanks for reading,
-George, FTPL

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *