Skip to content

Staff Pick of the Week: Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy by John le Carré

Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy: A George Smiley Novel: le Carré, John:  9780143119784: Amazon.com: Books

Genre:
Spy Fiction, Thriller
Read-Alikes:
Secret Asset by Stella Rimington
The Cairo Affair by Olen Steinhauer
Young Philby by Robert Littell



John le Carré, British author and master of the spy thriller, passed away earlier this week at the age of 89. In honor of the literary giant, this week’s staff pick is Tinker, Tailor, Solider, Spy, considered to be an essential work of the genre. The book has been adapted to TV and film, including a 2011 adaptation that was released to critical acclaim.

“A modern classic in which John le Carré expertly creates a total vision of a secret world, Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy begins George Smiley’s chess match of wills and wits with Karla, his Soviet counterpart.

It is now beyond a doubt that a mole, implanted decades ago by Moscow Centre, has burrowed his way into the highest echelons of British Intelligence. His treachery has already blown some of its most vital operations and its best networks. It is clear that the double agent is one of its own kind. But which one? George Smiley is assigned to identify him. And once identified, the traitor must be destroyed.” -Goodreads.com



Other classic works by John le Carré include:
The Constant Gardener
A Legacy of Spies
The Little Drummer Girl
The Spy Who Came in From the Cold



Thanks for reading,
-George, FTPL

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.