Skip to content

Staff Pick of the Week: “1491” by Charles C. Mann

Genre: History Writing
Read-Alikes:
1493: Uncovering the New World Columbus Created by Charles C. Mann
Brutal Journey: the Epic Story of the First Crossing of North America by Paul Schneider
Conquistadores: the Untold History of Spanish Conquest and Empire by Fernando Cervantes



“In a riveting and fast-paced history, massing archeological, anthropological, scientific and literary evidence, Mann debunks much of what we thought we knew about pre-Columbian America. Reviewing the latest, not widely reported research in Indian demography, origins and ecology, Mann zestfully demonstrates that long before any European explorers set foot in the New World, Native American cultures were flourishing with a high degree of sophistication . . . Mann, a contributor to the Atlantic Monthly and Science , masterfully assembles a diverse body of scholarship into a first-rate history of Native America and its inhabitants.” –Publishers Weekly, vol 252, issue 25, p65.



For questions about placing a hold on this or any other book, please leave a comment below, call the reference desk at 732-873-8700 ext. 111, or message us on our chat service.

Thanks for reading,
-George, FTPL

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.