Skip to content

Staff Pick of the Week: “No One Is Talking About This” by Patricia Lockwood

Genre: Literary Fiction
Read-Alikes:
To Rise Again at a Decent Hour by Joshua Ferris
Red Pill by Hari Kunzru
Weather by Jenny Offill

“Lockwood’s debut novel comes packed with the humor, bawdiness, and lyrical insight that buoyed her memoir Priestdaddy. The unnamed narrator—made famous by a viral post that read, ‘Can a dog be twins’—travels the world to speak on panels, where she explains such things as why it’s better to use the spelling ‘sneazing’ (it’s ‘objectively funnier’). While in Vienna for a conference, her mother urges her to come home to Ohio, where the narrator’s younger sister is having complications with her pregnancy and may need a late-term abortion. There, in the book ’s shimmering second half, the internet jokes continue between the sisters as a means of coping with uncertainty, and resonate with the theme of life’s ephemerality vs. the internet’s infinitude. Throughout, a fragmented style captures and sometimes elevates a series of text messages and memes amid the meditations on family (‘I’m convinced the world is getting too full lol, her brother texted her, the one who obliterated himself at the end of every day with a personal comet called Fireball’). This mighty novel screams with laughter just as it wallops with grief.” (Publishers Weekly, vol 267, issue 45, p)

For any questions about putting this or any other book on hold, please call the reference desk at 732-873-8700 opt. 3.

Thanks for reading,
George, FTPL

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.