Masks are still required within the library regardless of vaccination status.
Skip to content

Staff Pick of the Week: “Minor Feelings” by Cathy Park Hong

Genre:
Autobiography and Memoir
Read-Alikes:
The Magical Language of Others by E. J. Koh
How to Write an Autobiographical Novel by Alexander Chee
Between the World and Me by Ta Nehisi-Coates



“Poet and essayist Hong’s family history beautifully details how her life and art have been shaped by her Korean American identity. Among the many topics the author explores are the violent history of Korea and how that heritage has impacted generations of her family, her discomfort and confusion navigating her race as a child in the Los Angeles area, and how race affected friendships and mental health throughout her life. She also dissects popular culture, from Richard Pryor’s stand-up to the artist Theresa Hak Kyung Cha. Every page is packed with details and reflections on the myriad ways that Americans’ lives are shaped by race. The author has a particular talent for bringing a moment to life, inviting readers to confront the raw emotions of a given scene. She does not shy away from complication or bluntness, but presents her truth with all its complexity.” –Sarah Schroeder (Reviewed 01/01/2020) (Library Journal, vol 145, issue 1, p87)



If you have any questions about putting this book on hold, please leave a comment below, call the Reference Desk at 732-873-8700 ext. 111, or send us a message on our chat service.

Thanks for reading,
-George, FTPL

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.