Masks are still required within the library regardless of vaccination status.
Skip to content

Staff Pick of the Week: “Friday Black: Stories” by Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah

Genre:
Short Stories, Afrofuturism, Literary Fiction
Read-Alikes:
Temporary by Hilary Leichter
A Lucky Man by Jamal Brinkley
Heads of the Colored People by Nafissa Thompson-Spires



“In the stories of Adjei-Brenyah’s debut, an amusement park lets players enter augmented reality to hunt terrorists or shoot intruders played by minority actors, a school shooting results in both the victim and gunman stuck in a shared purgatory, and an author sells his soul to a many-tongued god.

Adjei-Brenyah’s writing will grab you, haunt you, enrage, and invigorate you. By placing ordinary characters in extraordinary situations, Adjei-Brenyah reveals the violence, injustice, and painful absurdities that black men and women contend with every day. These stories tackle urgent instances of racism and cultural unrest and explore the many ways we fight for humanity in an unforgiving world.” -Goodreads.com

Thanks for reading,
George, FTPL

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.