Skip to content

Staff Pick of the Week: “The Anthropocene Reviewed” by John Green

Genre: Essays, Society and Culture

Read-Alikes:
Under a White Sky by Elizabeth Kolbert
Sapiens: a Brief History of Humankind by Yuval Noah Harari
What are We Doing Here? by Marilynne Robinson



“YA novelist Green (Turtles All the Way Down) makes his adult debut with this perfectly calibrated collection that reviews and rates various aspects of the current epoch. Taking on the style of a Yelp review, Green assigns a five-star rating to each topic he covers. “Our Capacity for Wonder,” for example, gets three and a half stars (due to humans’ general lack of attentiveness), while Diet Dr. Pepper gets four—Green loves the drink, but finds consuming it feels like “committing a sin.” His review of the video game Mario Kart gives way to a discussion of privilege and a consideration of the role videos games played in the male friendships of his youth: “We didn’t need to talk about Mario Kart, but we needed Mario Kart to have an excuse to be together,” while CNN gets two stars for its failure to report “background information that allows us to understand why the news is happening.” Each short review is rich with meaning and filled with surprises—”Sunsets,” for example, draws on several poems to ask “what should we do about the clichéd beauty” of a setting sun— and together, they amount to a resonant paean to hard-won hope. Green’s legions of fans will be delighted. -Publishers Weekly, vol 268, issue 23.



For questions about placing a hold on this or any other book, please leave a comment below, call the reference desk at 732-873-8700 ext. 111, or message us on our chat service.

Thanks for reading,
-George, FTPL

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.