Skip to content

Staff Pick of the Week: “Exhalation” by Ted Chiang

Genre: Science Fiction, Short Stories

Read-Alikes:
Lesser Known Monsters of the 21st Century by Kim Fu
The Three-Body Problem by Cixin Liu
Sea of Tranquility by Emily St. John Mandel

“Hugo- and Nebula-winner Chiang’s standout second collection (after 2002’s Stories of Your Life and Others) explores the effects that technology and knowledge have on consciousness, free will, and the human desire for meaning. These nine stories introduce life-changing inventions and new worlds with radically different physical laws. In each, Chiang produces deeply moving drama from fascinating first premises. The title story follows a scientist whose self-experimentation reveals both the origin and eventual fate of consciousness. In “What’s Expected of Us,” a small device horrifically alters human behavior. Chiang’s rigorous worldbuilding makes hard science fiction out of stories that would otherwise be fable, as in the Hugo and Nebula-winning novelette “The Merchant and the Alchemist’s Gate,” a time travel story that employs both relativistic physics and an Arabian Nights–style structure. Others grapple with robots parenting humans, humans parenting AIs, the Fermi paradox, quantum mechanics, and what it means to be a sentient creature facing a potentially deterministic universe. As Chiang’s endnotes attest, these stories are brilliant experiments, and his commitment to exploring deep human questions elevates them to among the very best science fiction.” -Publishers Weekly, vol 265, issue 51

For any questions about putting this or any other book on hold, please call the reference desk at 732-873-8700 opt. 3.

Thanks for reading,
George, FTPL

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.